Ken Boyer (1956 – Topps #125)

Kenton Lloyd Boyer was a 3rd Baseman for the St. Louis Cardinals (1955 – ’65). Towards the end of his 15 year career he also played for the New York Mets (1966 – ’67), the Chicago White Sox (1967 – ’68) and the Los Angeles Dodgers (1968 – ’69). With St. Louis he was the N. L. MVP in 1964 and was a member of a World Series Championship Team that same year. He was voted to the N. L. All-Star Team 7 times and earned 5 Gold Glove Awards at his position. He also lead the League with 119 RBI in 1964. Ken Boyer’s uniform number (#14) was retired by the Cardinals and he was elected to the St. Louis Cardinal Hall Of Fame Museum in the inaugural year (2014). After his 15 year playing career, he managed the Cardinals from 1978 through part of the 1980 season. He died of cancer not long after, in 1982, at the age of just 51.

Ken Boyer 1956 Topps #125

One response to “Ken Boyer (1956 – Topps #125)

  1. Jimmy-The name Ken Boyer is familiar to me but only the name rings a bell to me-sorry. Nothing I can write about him except he must have been a good one as his name is so familiar to me. I was not familiar with the position he played or that he played for the Cardinals. I am getting old and had you asked me about him when I was a teenager, I am sure I would be able to tell you he played 3rd base for the Cards. Sorry, You sure have a ton of baseball cards! It is mind blowing! PG

    Like

Leave a Reply

