Bart Starr (1959 – Topps #23)

Bryan Bartlett “Bart” Starr was a Quarterback for the Green Bay Packers from 1956 – ’71. During his 16-years with the Packers he was a 5-time NFL champion (before 1968) and a 2-time Super Bowl champion (1968 and ’69, he was also the MVP of both). A 17th round Green Bay pick, Starr was the League’s MVP in 1966. Bart also was a 3-time All-Pro selection (he appeared in a total of 4 Pro Bowls). He was the recipient of the first Byron “Wizzer” White Award (1966) as the NFL Man of the Year. Starr passed for 24,718 yards as a Packer, and was inducted into both the Green Bay and the NFL Hall Of Fame. Bart Starr’s uniform number (#15) has been retired by the Green Bay Packers. I remember the “Ice Bowl” (the NFL Championship, before the Super Bowl) against Dallas in 1967, and the thrilling finish as well as Bart’s roll in ‘the most talked-about game’ in the history of the NFL.

Bart Starr 1960 Topps #23

3 responses to “Bart Starr (1959 – Topps #23)

  1. Jimmy. 1st of all, I want to “THANK YOU” so much for the gorgeous computer you sent me and I was so surprised, I cannot recall when I was so shocked, EVER, about anything in my life! That was just a wonderful gift of kindness and generosity on your part and I can never tell you how much that means to me-ever! You are my best friend and it is sad I cannot be with you just to have some laughs like we always used to! I recall when we were teens in the park by the bandstand playing baseball and I caught a ball and it felt like I sprained my thumb, and immediately I grabbed it and both hands dropped down by my fly on my pants and I yelled out in much pain, “I sprained it!” And it cracked you up! You thought I meant my dick and laughed so hard, you almost fell to the ground! You sure have alot of great cards for sure, and I don’t know where you got them all, but man oh man, you have a very valuable collection! Bart Starr was the 6th cousin to Ringo Starr, (just kidding) and I bet you did not know that! He was the greatest, ever, and I doubt there will be another one as good as him. I wish there was a way I could see you but I guess we will have to chat via computer. I am going to take it to a computer guy next Monday that Peg knows, in Tampa, only 15-20 mins away from me here in St Pete, as with vision in only one eye, I must be very careful driving and she says she knows an I T guy that is just across the bridge from where I am and it is a straight shot one way over a long bridge and his store is on the other side of the bridge in Tampa, but she suggests I take the computer there and ask the guy to set it up so I can use it and then she can take HER computer back that I am using now. She stayed with me last night after we ate “take out” and just left to be with her 3 kids now for Xmas, so I am alone and there are no sports on today, I don’t think, so I will just watch TV. She is hard to understand. She has a temper, but nobody knows it but me. She will return Sun and Mon morn she will show me where the computer guy is so I will have to follow her to Tampa and lv the new computer off til ready. It is a beauty! Thanks so much. There is nothing else I can say about Bart Starr as he was the best and I doubt anyone will ever be as great as a quarterback. Thanks again, Jimmy! You will never know what a great thing you did by sending me the computer as now we can stay in touch. Ferne was so sweet when she called me to tell me to be expecting a package from you on Tues. What a shocker! I will always remember that from you! She said you are having a problem with speaking and that must be very frustrating and I was very sorry to hear that but when we get to be in the “Geezer Club,” I had to give an eye to donate for my “dues” and you had to give your speech, but just never forget, not just ANYBODY can become an official member of the “Geezer Club!” Only very SPECIAL people can get in, and not everyone dares to take the risk! God Bless ya man with peace and love from Pete Goddard, alias PG! PS THANKS AGAIN BUDDY! 12/25/14

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hate to ‘bust your bubble’ about the computer, but our son JOE thought of it, bought it, ordered it, and sent it to you on his own, sothat you could keep in touch with us – so thank him, not me!!  I have to say it, both boys have just been unbelievable to us both!!    (And Joe to you). If you want to email him with thanks, his address is; jpacilio@chemplateindustries.com   I’ll talk to you when you see the computer guy (I assume you wrote this on another computer)  By the way – I don’t remember the story you mentioned, (senior moment?) but it IS funny!! (I don’t remember much, so don’t worry – I still email pretty good – I think!?) 

      Like

  2. I am sending Joey an email now! THANKS-You and Ferne sure have raised 2 great sons! PG

    Like

Leave a Reply

