Bob Elliott (1960 – Topps #215)

Robert Irving “Bob” Elliott was a third baseman/outfielder for the Pittsburgh Pirates and the Boston Braves from 1939 to ’53, with stops (for less than a year) in New York, St. Louis and then finally Chicago where he retired. He was my favorite player, at that time. I was a Braves fan at the time and, I guess, just liked his name. Bob was the National League MVP in 1947. He also was a 7-time National League All-Star. He batted .333 in his only World Series (1948) which the Braves lost to the Cleveland Indians in 6 games. My Uncle, for whom my younger was named, was in attendance at that series – I can’t tell you how envious I was! Bob Elliott was not anybody’s hero but mine, and I apologize for including him in my post. But he was special to me, and always will be. After his playing days, Elliott was the manager of the Kansas City Athletics in 1960. He died in 1966 at the ‘ripe old age’ of 49. He will not be forgotten.

Bob Elliott 1960 Topps #215

Leave a Reply

